The General Francis Marion Stamp Club Ocala, Florida
        The General Francis Marion Stamp Club                                   Ocala, Florida

Our Association

Club History

In 1990, a group of Marion County stamp collectors gathered to share their common interest in one of the world’s most popular hobbies.  The first president, Lester Sanders, had a weekly stamp collecting column in the South Marion Citizen, “Swamp Fox News”.

For its name, the club’s founders thought it was appropriate to adopt the county’s namesake, General Francis Marion – a name selected by the county’s citizens on March 25, 1844.  Many of the early pioneers settling this part of Florida came from South Carolina, where their local Revolutionary War hero was General Francis Marion, “The Swamp Fox”; he led a guerilla band of soldiers that helped keep the British from conquering the South.

Today, of the founding members, only veteran collector Tony Burgio is still an active member of the club.  The club now has over 40 members.



Art McNeal,


Vice President:

Joe Kusiak,


John Renyhart,


Elliot Natale,


Chair: Russell E. Rumney, Jr.,


Auction Cashier:

Jo Ann Van Scotter,


 Membership Chair:



Elliot Natale,


For more information

Nelson Laffey



 Annually, a nominating committee prepares a slate of officers (including president, vice president, secretary and treasurer) which is voted upon by the membership. Any member, in good standing, may be considered for nomination to a club leadership position.